Heritage management and protection legislation

We have created key legislation to protect Auckland's heritage and govern its management.

Central government also have a range of legislation in place which help to protect heritage all over New Zealand.

Find out more about some of the heritage projects that we have put in place to support the key principles and goals of heritage legislation.

Legislation for Auckland's heritage

The key piece of legislation that provides protection for Auckland heritage is the Resource Management Act (1991). Under the act, we are required to create a plan for how land can be used and developed.

The Auckland Unitary Plan will replace the current district and regional plans when it is fully operative.

Our other legislation which involve policies to protect and promote heritage include:

Central government legislation

Central government legislation recognises and protects heritage around New Zealand:

  • Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act (2014)
    The Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act came fotce in May 2014 and replaces the Historic Places Act.
  • The Historic Places Act (1993)
    The Historic Places Act (1993) regulates the modification of archaeological sites on all land. This act was repealed on 20 May 2014.
  • The Conservation Act (1987) 
    The Conservation Act (1987) guides the Department of Conservation and promotes the conservation of New Zealand's natural and historic resources.
  • The Reserves Act (1977) 
    The Reserves Act (1977) guides the classification and management of reserves for a range of purposes, including protection.
  • The Protected Objects Act (1975) 
    Administered by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the Protected Objects Act (1975) regulates the export of protected New Zealand objects, the illegal export and import of protected New Zealand and foreign objects, and the sale, trade and ownership of objects relating to Māori culture.
  • Waitakere Ranges Heritage Area Act (2008)
    The Waitakere Ranges Heritage Area Act (2008) establishes the Waitakere Ranges Heritage Area. Its purpose is to recognise its significance and to promote protection and enhancement.
  • Hauraki Gulf Marine Park Act (2000) 
    The Hauraki Gulf Marine Park Act (2000) provides special recognition for the Hauraki Gulf, its islands and catchments.

Your feedback helps us to improve our website. If you have feedback about our services (not the website), please contact us.