Plans and strategies

Sea Change.  

Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari

Hauraki Gulf area

The Hauraki Gulf / Tikapa Moana, known by others as Te Moananui-ā-Toi, is rightly recognised as a national taonga (treasure).

Since late 2013, a partnership involving mana whenua (local Māori who have customary authority over the area), Auckland Council, Waikato Regional Council, the Department of Conservation, Ministry for Primary Industries and Hauraki Gulf Forum has been working on Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari, a marine spatial planning initiative designed to produce a Marine Spatial Plan to safeguard this treasure.

This plan is about securing the Hauraki Gulf as a healthy, productive and sustainable resource for all users, now and in the future.

A shared resource like the Hauraki Gulf is a shared responsibility, so everyone interested in its wellbeing should be able to contribute their knowledge and ideas to the plan for its future. For this reason, the Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari process is being managed through a truly innovative ‘outside in’ stakeholder-driven model, in partnership with mana whenua.

Each member of the Stakeholder Working Group - the group responsible for developing the Marine Spatial Plan - has strong connections with credible local groups and networks, as well as personal connections to the Gulf. You can meet the representatives and learn more about the Stakeholder Working Group on the Sea Change - Tai Timu Tai Pari website.

Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari is also following the UNESCO best practice approach to marine spatial planning (or MSP).

To find out more:

The Hauraki Gulf - Tikapa Moana / Te Moananui-ā-Toi

Stretching from Mangawhai, north of Auckland, to Waihi, on the Coromandel Peninsula, the Hauraki Gulf covers 1.2 million hectares of ocean. It is one of New Zealand’s most valued and intensively used resources.  It is also a significant economic asset, generating more than $2.7 billion in economic activity every year, including aquaculture, fishing, tourism, shipping and ferry transport.

The Hauraki Gulf is home to a rich diversity of seabirds, whales, dolphins, fisheries, and unique undersea habitats. It contains important nature sanctuaries, six marine reserves and more than 50 islands, including Kawau, Aotea/Great Barrier, Waiheke and Ahuahu/Great Mercury.

In 2000, it was designated New Zealand’s first marine park, due to its national significance.

Hauraki Gulf Marine Park logo.

In partnership with mana whenua and the following agencies:

Hauraki Gulf Forum logo         Ministry for Primary Industries logo.

Department of Conservation logo.                     Auckland Council logo.



Your feedback helps us to improve our website. If you have feedback about our services (not the website), please contact us.